Fri, 21 Jan 2022

DHAKA, Bangladesh - For the first time in history, Bangladesh's national women's cricket team has qualified for the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup.

Following the breakout of a new Covid-19 type in southern Africa, the International Cricket Council [ICC] on Saturday called off the ongoing World Cup Qualifier 2021 in Harare due to travel restrictions on many African countries, including the host country Zimbabwe.

Based on the competition team rankings listed in the tournament eligibility rules, the governing body of international cricket named Bangladesh, West Indies, and Pakistan as qualifying teams for the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2022 in New Zealand.

After beating Pakistan and the United States, Bangladesh won Group B, while the West Indies won Group A after defeating Ireland. Thailand, which does not have a rating at the moment but beat Bangladesh and Zimbabwe in the event, would be disappointed by the news.

Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand (hosts), Pakistan, South Africa, and West Indies have qualified for the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2022, which will be played in New Zealand from March 4 to April 3.

The number of teams competing in the ICC Women's Championship's third cycle (from 2022-2025) has been upped from eight to 10, with Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, Sri Lanka, and South Africa.

More Mumbai News

Access More

Sign up for Bombay News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!