Wed, 24 Jul 2019

Malinga returns as Mumbai bowl first

16 Apr 2019, 00:52 GMT+10

Toss: Mumbai Indians chose to bowl v Royal Challengers Bangalore

Mumbai Indians won the toss and chose to bowl first against Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Wankhede Stadium. Where Mumbai are looking to bounce back from the defeat to Rajasthan Royals on Saturday, Royal Challengers will seek to consolidate on their first victory of the season, against Kings XI Punjab.

Mumbai's 22-year-old quick Alzarri Joseph - who had claimed the IPL's best ever figures in his first game last week, before going wicketless in his next two matches - will now miss the remainder of the IPL with a dislocated shoulder, and so makes way for the return of veteran Lasith Malinga. It had been Joseph in fact, that had taken Malinga's place when the latter decided to leave the IPL to play in Sri Lanka's domestic Super Four tournament. In effect, Malinga is reclaiming the place in the attack he had held at the start of the IPL.

Royal Challengers, meanwhile, have opted to make no changes to the XI that won in Mohali on Saturday.

Mumbai Indians: 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 Quinton de Kock (wk), 3 Suryakumar Yadav, 4 Kieron Pollard, 5 Hardik Pandya, 6 Ishan Kishan, 7 Krunal Pandya, 8 Rahul Chahar, 9 Jason Behrendorff, 10, Jasprit Bumrah 11 Lasith Malinga

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 1 Parthiv Patel (wk), 2 Virat Kohli (capt), 3 AB de Villiers, 4 Marcus Stoinis, 5 Moeen Ali, 6 Akshdeep Nath, 7 Pawan Negi, 8 Umesh Yadav, 9 Mohammed Siraj, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, 11 Navdeep Saini

More Mumbai News

Access More

Sign up for Bombay News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!